2014 Award Ceremony & Symposium

Since 1987, the Illinois Sustainable Technology Center (ISTC) has presented Governor's awards to organizations in Illinois that have demonstrated a commitment to environmental excellence through outstanding and innovative sustainability practices. Sustainable technology encompasses any technique or technology that reduces the amount of and/or toxicity of pollutants that would have otherwise been released into the environment. Sustainability includes processes such as raw material and solvent substitution, preventive maintenance programs, beneficial reuse of by-products, waste reduction and recycling, and implementation of programs that support pollution prevention (e.g. ISO 14001).

The award ceremony and technical symposium will be held on October 23, 2014, at the Hyatt Regency Chicago, Crystal Ballroom, 151 East Wacker Drive, Chicago.

28th Annual Award Ceremony

Thursday, October 23, 2014, Hyatt Regency Chicago

Registration & Exhibitor Setup

8:30 Exhibitor Setup
9:00 Continental Breakfast & Registration

Technical Symposium

9:30 Measuring and Managing for True Sustainability (click presentation title to view slides)
10:30 Exhibitor / Coffee Break
10:45 Boots on the Ground: Sustainability Success in Manufacturing
  • Anaya Vardya – CEO, American Standard Circuits Inc.
  • Matt Smazik – Director of Manufacturing, Chem Processing, Inc.
  • George Tommasi – Director of Human Resources, The Label Printers L.P.
11:45 Exhibitor / Coffee Break

Awards Ceremony

12:00 Lunch
1:00 Keynote Address: Transformative Strategies for Economic Growth and Jobs
by Jeff Malehorn, President and CEO, World Business Chicago
1:30 Remarks
Kevin O'Brien, Illinois Sustainable Technology Center (ISTC) Director
Brian Anderson, Prairie Research Institute Interim Executive Director
Governor Pat Quinn (TBD)
2:00 Awards Presentation
3:00 Adjourn: Photo Session and Networking

*Order of speakers subject to change


2014 Illinois Governor's Sustainability Awards Agenda (PDF)