ISTC Advisory Board

ISTC’s Advisory Board is composed of select representatives of business, industry, government, non-profit agencies, and academia who assist the Center in reviewing its activities and goals for maximum benefit to the people of Illinois. Through their contacts, expertise, and dedication to sustainable economic development and environmental stewardship, they are invaluable to the work of ISTC.


Imad L. Al-Qadi
Bliss Professor of Engineering
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

J. Will Baker
Customer Success Manager, Energy Partnerships
Google Nest

Stephen K. Davis
Raptor Environmental Services

Pamela Dugan
Business Development Manager
Carus Corporation

Angela Foster-Rice
Business Advisor for Climate Futures, and
Principal for Aerial Consulting

Annette Fulgenzi
Manager, Illinois First Stop Business Information
Office of Entrepreneurship, Innovation & Technology
Illinois Department of Commerce & Economic Opportunity

Donovan Griffith
Director of Government Affairs
Illinois Manufacturers' Association

Joy Hinz
Environmental Specialist
DuPage County

Franklin H. Holcomb
Associate Director
Center for the Advancement of Sustainability Innovations (CASI)
Engineer Research and Development Center
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers

Edward F. Kriz
Manager, Strategic Energy Management
Nicor Gas

Warren Lavey
Adjunct Professor, SESE
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Kim Leftwich

Joey Mak
Vice President, Programs
Chicagoland Chamber of Commerce

Edith Makra
Director of Environmental Initiatives
Metropolitan Mayor's Caucus

Rick Manner
Executive Director
Urbana & Champaign Sanitary District

Peter Nassos
Retired, Senior Vice President of Marketing
Nalco Water, an Ecolab Company

Shawn Nichols
Director, Business Development & Strategic Planning
Central States Water Resources Group

Heather Nifong
Associate Director
Illinois Environmental Protection Agency

Eileen Openbrier
Director, Environmental Compliance & Sustainability
Lake County Operations

Michael Rutkowski
SVP, Research & Technology Development
Gas Technology Institute

David L. Thomas
Retired, Founding Director
Illinois Sustainable Technology Center

Phil Van Ness
Webber & Thies, P.C.

Scott Wilkin
Executive Consultant
Tech Economy Partners

Kimberly Worthington
Deputy Commissioner
Bureau of Environmental, Health & Safety Management
City of Chicago, Dept. of Fleet & Facility Management

Kevin Yepsen
Community State Bank

Carrie Zalewski
Illinois Commerce Commission